Mine

Clock bells ring from a place unknown

As a stare out this window I’m supposed to call home.

 

Street lights keep night from settling in

I can peer down the sidewalk, yet all shadows grow dim.

 

Who are these people? Why are they here?

They could ask the same question, and my answer I fear.

 

My purpose seems foggy, my path a mess.

From an outsider’s eyes, I may look like success.

 

A job in a town far away from my home,

From city to state, cross the country I roam.

 

But look ‘neath the surface of this life that I lead,

New people, new places, they lack something I need.

 

A bed to call mine and family close by,

The small simple things, now a lullaby.

 

I dream far away in the distance of time.

I must count down the nights till they are yet again mine.

Leave a Reply

